Board of Directors

Composition of the Board of Directors:

François Cornelis – Chairman of the Board of Directors

François Cornelis is an independent director on the Board of Directors of bpost since 2013. He holds a masters degree in civil engineering from the University of Leuven. Between 1974 and 2011 François Cornelis held various positions at Petrofina, including as CEO and afterwards at the Total Group as President Chemicals, and Vice-chairman of the Executive Committee.

Koen Van Gerven – Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Van Gerven, joined the Company in 2006 as Director of Retail and Financial Services. From 2009 to 2012, he also acted as CIO for the Company and chairman of the board of bpost bank. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Van Gerven was CEO of Acerta Group from 2001 to 2006 and held a number of executive positions at Generale Bank (now BNP Paribas Fortis) from 1982 to 2001. Mr. Van Gerven holds a degree in commercial engineering from Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KU Leuven) and a MBA from Cornell University.

Philly Teixeira – Independent Director
Philly Teixeira is President for Europe, Middle East and Africa at INTTRA, the largest neutral electronic transaction platform and information provider for the ocean shipping industry. From 1991 to 2011, Ms Teixeira held leadership and executive positions within FedEx covering Sales, Marketing and Customer Experience. In 2011, she further expanded her experience by joining CMACGM as Vice President Marketing, Global Sales and e-Business and in 2013 joined Maersk in a corporate role leading the Key Clients program globally. 
Luc Lallemand – Non-Executive Director

Mr. Lallemand is CEO of Infrabel SA/NV, which he joined in 2004. Prior to joining Infrabel, Mr. Lallemand was CFO and a director of SNCB (the Belgian National Railway Company) from 2002 to 2004. He holds a masters degree in commercial engineering from Francisco Ferrer College Brussels and a degree from Institut de Finance Internationale et de Cambisme (IFCA).

Laurent Levaux – Non-Executive Director

Mr. Levaux is Executive Chairman of Aviapartner NV, which he joined in 2008. Prior to joining Aviapartner, he was CEO of ABX Logistics from 2003 to 2008, CEO of CMI from 1995 to 2003, associate and partner at McKinsey & Co. from 1985 to 1995 and CEO and co-founder of Losfeld-Fétinne SA from 1979 to 1984. He holds a degree in applied economics from Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) and an MBA from the University of Chicago.

Caroline Ven – Non-Executive Director

From 2008 to 2010, Mrs Ven was chief of staff at the cabinet of Belgian prime ministers Yves Leterme and Herman van Rompuy. Ms. Ven started her career as an economist at the research department of Kredietbank (now KBC) and, in 1999, joined the Federation of Enterprises in Belgium and became manager for economic affairs. She holds a masters degree in applied economics from UFSIA (University of Antwerp).

Ray Stewart – Independent Director

Mr. Stewart has acquired extensive knowledge and experience in finance, accountancy, risk management and auditing in large and complex organisations. He has worked as CFO of various companies (incl Belgacom) and is able to draw on substantial international experience in listed companies. He has also been on the board of Nyrstar (where he also chairs the audit committee) since 2007 and of former Telindus Group since 2006. His experience at Belgacom has given him thorough insight into the regulations that apply to state enterprises in Belgium.

Michael Stone – Independent Director

Mr. Stone has extensive strategic and operational experience in the parcels market. This was initially gained through various high-level regional and global positions at DHL (until 2006), and since then, through senior executive positions at DX Group and Neopost Ltd, where he is currently managing director UK. These roles have given him a comprehensive understanding of the parcels market and in-depth knowledge of the trends and challenges in the traditional postal markets.

Bernadette Lambrechts – Non-Executive Director

Ms. Lambrechts is Managing Director of the Commission Communautaire Française (« COCOF »). She is also chairwoman of the Conseil de l’Office de contrôles des mutualités which regulates and controls the mutual insurance sector. From 2009 till 2013 she was deputy chief of Staff of the Minister of finance, Budget and Sports of the French Community. Ms. Lambrechts holds a Master degree in Law at UCL.

Jos Donvil – Non-Executive Director

Jos Donvil  is currently the Chief Executive Officer (Executive Vice President) of VOO. From 1995 to 2006, Mr Donvil gained experience at Kraft Foods, as General Sales Director Belux, Director International Sales Strategy and Director Global Customers. At BASE Company, Mr Donvil was Chief Operating Officer from 2007 to 2011, and Chief Executive Officer from 2012 to 2016. In 2016, he became Chief Executive Officer of VOO, a company active in telecommunications. 

Saskia Van Uffelen – Independent Director

Saskia Van Uffelen is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Ericsson Belux. From 1990 to 2005, Ms Van Uffelen held different management roles at Compaq and HP. In 2005, she joined Arinso as Vice President for Central and Eastern Europe. She joined Bull Belux as Chief Executive Officer in 2008, where she led a turnaround, and moved to Ericsson Belux in 2014. Ms Van Uffelen was named ICT Woman of the year in 2011.


Thomas Hübner – Independent Director

Thomas Hübner is currently working as an independent consultant and board member. Mr Hübner was Chief Operating Officer at McDonald’s in Switzerland from 1988 to 1990 and was responsible for McDonald’s in the Czech Republic and Slovakia from 1990 to 1995. He served as Chief Executive Officer of Prodega AG (CH) from 1996 to 2000. At Metro Cash & Carry International GmbH, he was Chief Operating Officer for Eastern Europe and Russia from 2000 to 2002, and Chief Executive Officer from 2002 to 2008. From 2011 to 2013, he was a member of the executive board at Carrefour.